Hi, 2016.

I’m not really massive on New Years. I love the fireworks, but I think that making resolutions and this whole ‘New Year, new me’ stuff is total bullshit. With that being said, though, New Years has managed to to be important in some ways. Tattoosday UK was founded in New Year’s Day- I’m not really sure why, and if I’m honest I can’t even remember it happening. One day it was a crap idea on Blogger, and the next day it was something I was taking seriously and putting loads of blood, sweat, and tears into.

The reason I’m telling you this is because this year’s first little story starts on New Year’s Eve too. I was out with Stu and our friends to see the fireworks on the Quayside. They were beautiful, by the way.

Source: http://ne1fmbreakfast.com/2015/01/04/happy-new-year/
Source: http://ne1fmbreakfast.com/2015/01/04/happy-new-year/

I don’t think that’s a photo of this year’s, but you get the idea.

Anyway, afterwards I got talking to our friend Kemp about my writing, and the things I got up to. I talked about Tattoosday UK, Total Tattoo, and all of the awesome friends I made. Weirdly enough, he wasn’t even bored by the end of it. He actually thought that it was pretty cool. Then I realised that, actually, it wasn’t half bad!

I think that this, combined with Stu’s amazing Christmas present of a voucher for a new tattoo, and his encouragement to get back into it all,  which had already put tattooing back in my head) was enough to kick my brain in the hypothetical arse and make a decision: my break from writing is officially over. It’s been a fun break, but there’s only so long you can do nothing.

So, with that being said, I’m back, bitches.

56290903

If you were a fan of Tattoosday UK, I’m sorry to say it won’t be making a return. I want to do something new, though it will still be online and it’ll still be free to read. I’m looking at this new venture being an online magazine instead.

One of the most annoying things about having a blog is knowing people are only skim reading half of what you’re saying (hi if you read that sentence but not half the others). However, if you give them something they can stick on their tablets, print out, read on the bus or whatever, they’ll pay a little more attention to it. It also means I can write more about cool things, and feature more than a small image gallery for everything I’m talking about.

I’ve decided on a name, which is North Rose Tattoo. I wanted to avoid anything that has ‘ink’, ‘tats’, or anything else like it in the title. No offence to those who do have those titles, but it’s not for me. I want to build up something that’s really classy, and focuses on tattooers rather than girls in bikinis. I’ve even put together a rough logo (I’ll be making this look much better eventually, of course):

logo2

I’m really excited to see what happens with this new project, and I hope everyone who read Tattoosday UK likes it. There’ll be more on this very soon.

Leave a Reply

