New Project Coming Soon

Yeah yeah, I suck at keeping a blog, whatever. 

Things have been a bit mental since the fundraiser- it’s still actually going, though I think things have come to a bit of a halt. I think it’s this ice bucket bullshit. Sorry if this pisses on your bonfire, but I hate the ice bucket challenge. Millions of people every year die from not having clean water, but because they’re not trending on Twitter, it’s apparently okay to spite them for a trendier cause. 

Since everyone has been donating to other causes, they’re now at a point where they’re too skint to donate to anyone else. This sucks, because I have a t-shirt the Fun Lovin’ Criminals donated up on a JustGiving page right now, and no one is donating. It’s a signed t-shirt that the guys did especially for the fundraiser, and no one wants it?! That is insane. 

fun-lovinI’m still amazed by how much we managed to raise- not far from £3,000! Wow! I’m seriously impressed and humbled by the amount managed to raise. There are still a few prints and things lying around, and I’m trying to figure out what to do with them. I might sell them, with 100% of the cost still going to Macmillan, plus postage and packaging. I’ll take a look at what our options are.

I’m already thinking about the next cool thing I want to do with the site. I’m bored of it all being just a blog. It’s dull doing the same thing all the time. The fundraiser was brilliant for a great change and a chance to do something good, but it has to end eventually. 

I’ve already started with plans for the next thing, but I’m playing it pretty close to my chest right now. I’ve posted something up on the site for it, though, here. From the post:

  • I’m on the lookout for anyone who would like to be a part of this. You could be a tattooer, a writer, a graphic designer, or anyone else who is interested in taking part in something web-based around tattooing.

  • This will be a bit of a punk project- by that I mean that we’re not out to make money (honestly, I am skint!). All I want is a group of people who take pride in what they do, who wants to positively promote and be a part of a community that celebrates an art form that we love. If you don’t love tattooing, or you just want to do this to ‘be seen’, please don’t get in touch. 

  • While this is totally unpaid for us all, this is a great opportunity for those who want some experience in writing or design. You can add this to your portfolio, and there are fantastic opportunities for those who love covering events. Just because you don’t earn money, doesn’t mean you can’t save a few quid on convention tickets or tattoo-related books!

  • You need a good balance between wanting to be a good writer/blogger/designer/whatever, and an interest in tattooing. If you don’t, you need to show you’re keen to get to that point. If you don’t care about either, you’ll be shit.

If you feel like you’d be interested in this, please get in touch!

Apart from that, not too much has been happening. Actually, lots has been happening, but I’m too lazy to talk about it. Here’s some photos instead:

 

 

Leave a Reply

