Jazz Publishing Gave me my Privacy Back.

Right, it’s always confusing when people make posts, then change them, and you have no idea what they’re about. Here’s a Sparknotes version of this post before it was edited:

I am foaming, I am getting emails from Jazz Publishing and I don’t want them. So are many people I know, and I would love to know if you have had these emails as well so I can see if there is any reason why this is happening, because I’m getting sick now.

David, who works at Jazz, picked this up pretty quickly. David should probably own Jazz, because this is the first time I’ve experienced someone there picking up on something so quickly and changing it to suit the needs of those who aren’t happy. He’s commented below, but you’re too lazy to read that, so here you go:

I’ve changed the wording by the way on all future mailings which will hopefully make it clearer as to why they are getting an email and what options they have of unsubscribing. This is in addition to us normally starting an email off with a list of sites they may have subscribed through… have a read and let me know if it seems fair.

We take unsolicited email very seriously and want to assure you that this is not it. This email has been sent to you by Jazz Fashion Publishing Ltd because you are an existing customer, have subscribed to our newsletters or have registered on one of our websites. If you do not wish to receive such emails in the future you can unsubscribe below:

To unsubscribe from receiving updates about “Manchester Tattoo Show” click here
If you would like to unsubscribe from updates relating to all of our products and events click here

Registered address: Jazz Fashion Publishing Limited. The Old School, Higher Kinnerton, Chester, CH4 9AJ. Registered in England with Company Number: 3743871

In all honesty, this seems really fair. I said in my comment to David that if this was something Jazz fixed, I’d delete what I said and update it to this. So here we are. I still have issues with my own email address being on record, but this isn’t something to do with David, I can see it’s due to something being overlooked which I’d requested a while ago.

Basically, if you have emails from Jazz and you don’t want them, click on the second link in the footer.

What do you guys think? Personally, I’m content with this response. Thanks to everyone who did get in touch- I hope David has provided a solution for those of you who did not want any future emails. Smile

6 thoughts on “Jazz Publishing Gave me my Privacy Back.”

    1. There’s only one email matching mkapt (not sure if it’s you, please send me your email address), subscribed last august and has never clicked the unsubscribe link on an email. So yes, will still get emails but never unsolicited…

  1. Hi Mel,

    Are you suggesting that we’ve found your private email address and started to send you emails?
    We only send emails to those who have given us their email address. After all why would we ask for an email address if we weren’t going to send you an email? Why would you give us your email address if you were not interested in what we do?
    It’s not forced on anyone and we are certainly not invading your privacy, we know nothing more about you than the information you provide us with. A lot less than you provide on this public blog, if you really are worried about your privacy.
    You always have the option to unsubscribe from product/event notifications and the unsubscribe links on the email are respected and any reasons why are read by us.
    If you create multiple accounts on our websites or subscribe to our newsletter with more than 1 email address you’ll no doubt get an email more than once and have to unsubscribe more than once. The same would apply if i subscribed to your blog with multiple emails.

    You’ve not contacted us to complain about this or to ask why you’re still receiving emails. If you’d like to contact me I can let you know exactly what you’re subscribed to, when you subscribed and unsubscribe you if you haven’t already done so. As an editor of an online publication I would have thought you’d have done this before posting but I don’t feel you’re really after the truth as it’s not really as dramatic as you make out. Have a read of this… http://media.gn.apc.org/nujcode.html

    Kind Regards,
    David

    1. David,

      All I know is that I haven’t signed up to any of your sites, at least that I know of, so if my email address is added to your list, it would be interesting to know how. It’s clear that I’ve already had to unsubscribe once, why do I have to keep doing it?

      I haven’t been in touch with you directly, because I know a friend of mine already has done. She’s had a lengthy phone conversation with Jazz before, and it got nowhere- as you can imagine, I wasn’t really willing to waste my time as well. Honestly, would you? If you can give me somewhere solid to get in touch (as the things I tried a couple of months ended up bouncing back to me), then I will, as I’ll honestly be interested in where my email address is from. I’d even take this post down as well, if I was happy my email address wasn’t taken from elsewhere.

      Please don’t throw the NUJ guidelines my way- I’d be more than willing to correct anything which isn’t true. I just haven’t really seen any reason to believe otherwise. It might interest you to know that I actually wrote this trying to find the truth, considering I’m actively asking people for any information as to why they think they might be getting these emails from you guys. I thought that was pretty obvious, but apparently not.

      Regards,

      Mel

      **edited for clarity**

      1. I can’t speak about your friend as I don’t know who it is, all I know is that no-one has contacted me personally about newsletters and noone in the office has mentioned any complaints to me. Feel free to pass my email address on and I’ll be happy to help them. We’ve got a good policy regarding unsubscribing and it’s a well managed database… It’s important to me personally that we don’t annoy people but let people know what we’re up to, most of our customers want to know what’s going on remember.
        I know we’re a lot better than most as i get tons of emails from event organisers, studios, dodgy tattoo kit suppliers etc all who have no option of unsubscribing.
        We don’t try to hide either, there aren’t many of us and my email was attached to that last post. Try http://www.jazzpublishing.com/contact it has my number and email.

        As for your own details, I’m only posting this here as I know its moderated, feel free to remove the personal stuff… ***********************************

        I only allow newsletters to be emailed to people who have given us their email address and I try to make it as easy as possible for those who no longer want them to unsubscribe.
        I’ve changed the wording by the way on all future mailings which will hopefully make it clearer as to why they are getting an email and what options they have of unsubscribing. This is in addition to us normally starting an email off with a list of sites they may have subscribed through… have a read and let me know if it seems fair.

        We take unsolicited email very seriously and want to assure you that this is not it. This email has been sent to you by Jazz Fashion Publishing Ltd because you are an existing customer, have subscribed to our newsletters or have registered on one of our websites. If you do not wish to receive such emails in the future you can unsubscribe below:

        To unsubscribe from receiving updates about “Manchester Tattoo Show” click here
        If you would like to unsubscribe from updates relating to all of our products and events click here

        Registered address: Jazz Fashion Publishing Limited. The Old School, Higher Kinnerton, Chester, CH4 9AJ. Registered in England with Company Number: 3743871

      2. David,

        You seem like a stand up guy, and considering I’ve rarely experienced that from people at Jazz before, I respect what you have done. I’d also like to thank you for acting so quickly. I think that people will like your new footer for your emails, and as promised, I have changed my blog post to point this out. See, I’m not the drama queen I seem to have come across to you as!

        I can understand where my email address has come from to get to you, now. I thought I had used a temporary email address to sign up to BTP, which clearly didn’t work. I signed up once to point out to your boss something he’d done on the forum, then I asked him to delete my account. It seems like that was never done. Thank you for unsubscribing me, you’ve been really helpful with something others in your company failed in, so I appreciate that.

        I hope this didn’t make you shit yourself at all, by the way- I am still such a minute part of tattooing that this isn’t something to worry too much about.

        I’m really glad this has been sorted out, honestly they need to promote you and make you CEO of Jazz or something.

        Kind Regards,

        Mel

Leave a Reply

