Goodbye, Sally!

I’m not even going to apologise for the lack of updates to this blog anymore, I doubt you’d take it seriously if I did.

This week, Total Tattoo Magazine’s newest issue came out, and has confirmed to the world what those of us “behind the scenes” knew for a while: Sally Feldt will no longer be the editor of Total Tattoo Magazine. I have to admit, I’m pretty gutted. Last year, we lost Alex Guest as an editor and valuable asset to tattooing- now I have to say goodbye to another of my favourite editors. This sucks.

Within writing, on very rare occasions you will come across an individual who lives and breathes every word they write. These people are extremely astounding, and they will capture your attention in a way which very few people can. Sally’s writing and contribution to tattooing has always had my attention. Sally is a kind and thoughtful person, and this comes across in pretty much everything she’s done, and Total Tattoo will always be one of the best tattoo magazines in the world.

Ever since I started my humble little tattoo blog over three years ago, I always wanted to write for Total Tattoo Magazine. I’d spoken to Sally a few times before I started writing for the magazine, even wishing each other good luck when we were nominated for the same award at the Industry Awards in Liverpool- you’d never get that at the Oscars! She was always a pleasure to talk to. When she asked me if I’d like to have a column in her magazine, I didn’t even spend a second thinking about it.

Sally has been an incredibly amazing editor, and working with her was a real pleasure. She was supportive and helpful, and one of the best bosses I’ve ever had. It’s a real shame to see her go. I just really wanted to use my little corner of the Internet to say thanks, and that I will miss her terribly.

We do, of course, have a new editor in James. James is a really cool guy who works really hard. He’s worked as editor on some issues before, and he’s done a great job of it already. As much as I’ll miss Sally, I am really looking forward to working with James. 2012 is still a brand new year, yet James is already a breath of fresh air to an already outstanding magazine. Here’s to new changes- I hope we all do you proud, Sally! Thanks for everything- if I told these people how much you’ve helped improve my writing, it would be embarrassing.

Tell you what else is embarrassing- watching Life of Brian, and calling your new boss “Brian” twice in this post by accident! Hahahahahaha, doh!
5 thoughts on “Goodbye, Sally!”

  1. That’s tough and makes me miss those few days when I wrote for an editor I really liked; and one who supported my own ideas. I’m sure Total Tattoo will continue to be top-notch –– now I just gotta actually pick up a copy with your column!

    1. Too true mate, there are a lot of editors out there who amaze me for the wrong reasons. I don’t get why some do it, they don’t seem interested in tattooing at all. Sally was different, and I think James will be, too. The issues he’s edited already are great. I will really miss Sally though. 
      You definitely need to pick up a copy with me in it mate, howay man I am famous innit! 

    1. Alex Guest has not been the editor of Tattoo Revolution for a while now. I’m not entirely sure what I’m supposed to say about why, so I’ll go with the “he wanted to be with his family” stance which TR has taken. It’s a real shame to see them both go though, they were both my favourite editors! James has big boots to fill, but I think he can do it. 🙂 

Leave a Reply

