Bibliophile.

It should be fairly obvious I love to read by now. One of the cool things about being a writer is knowing other people who not only like to read, but write some really cool books. One of these people is my friend Alexa, one of many partners in crime in the “tattoo journalism” playground of affairs. She’s just written a really cool book called Skilled, which is a fiction novel aimed at young adults.

I haven’t had much of a chance to hunt out my tablet computer and download this yet, but it looks really cool. There are ghosts and ghouls, a near death experience and a love affair with someone who’s already dead. The book is available on Amazon at the bargain price of $1.16 here. Also, click here for the book’s blog.

Or you can just wait for the film to come out.

Speaking of books and films (see what I did there?), I just heard about a really fucking awesome film that’s coming out next year! A film called The Raven, which will focus on the last days of Edgar Allen Poe and a fictitious murder mystery plot is out in 2012. John Cusack is playing Poe, and he looks pretty cool in this screen shot from IMDB:

image

Pretty much anyone who knows me probably knows that I love Edgar Allen Poe, so you can all imagine how excited I am. Even if it’s crap I’ll probably watch it 10 times. Of course, this also gives me an excuse to show you once again my favourite painting of Poe, by Matt Skiba:

Edgar Allen Poe by Matt SKiba (Alkaline Trio/Heavens) MINE! ;)  thanks matt! in 2008 by

In keeping with this geeky book post, I also updated my wish list of books I want to read. If you guys have any of these books and wouldn’t mind me borrowing them, it’d be much appreciated! You can see the list here. Thanks!

image

Next week I’ll be visiting some friends, writing and hopefully finishing an article on the Swastika symbol and looking for a day job. I may write about that here. Oh, and I’ll be reading, playing my bass and working on projects, as usual. Like a baws. Thanks for reading.

2 thoughts on “Bibliophile.”

    1. I hope it happens, too! 🙂 I also heard about the Johnny Depp stuff ages ago- I don’t really like Johnny Depp though. I know, I’m a bad person. I just think he’s a tramp. I think many people are sceptical of Cusack, too. I was sceptical of Heath Ledger when I heard he’d be the joker, though, so now I’m open to pretty much any half decent idea, haha. Your Poe tattoo is awesome man! 🙂 I really love it. Sometimes I wonder if you really are an older male version of me, haha.

Leave a Reply

