Pack Your Bags, We’re Moving!

Yep, you read it right. Come on, get all your shit together, we’re getting out of this godforsaken country. England, you have fucked me over for the last time! Yes yes, there is a massive VAT charge on everything now, the Tories are back and James Cordon is still on TV, but that’s just the tip of the iceberg. Now it’s personal.

What’s that I’m pretending you asked me? What am I talking about? HMV is shutting down 60 of its shops over the next year. If Virgin is anything to go by, this is the beginning of the end.

HMV is my favourite shop. Seriously. You will always find an HMV gift card in my wallet, because everyone knows that’s what to buy me to keep me happy. I’m always wandering in, then leaving afterwards with bags full, wondering where my money went. Here in this room I have over 150 DVDs, many of which were bought at HMV for a brilliant price, and god knows how many CDs taken from the “2 for £10” offer that’s been going on as long as I can remember. It’s a brilliant shop. It’s one of the only shops in Newcastle that has a section specifically for tattoo related books and magazines (yes there are few, but there are some!).

And now you bastards are killing it. Yeah, you, with your stupid LimeWire programs and your Bit torrents. Let’s face it, that’s what this is about, right? About millions of people wanting something for nothing, and never bothering to put their hand in their pockets? Hey, torrent all you want, but give something back once in a while- because if you don’t, this will happen. HMV even have a website where you can download music, so don’t pretend to me it’s about convenience.

Well, I’m not sticking around to see this. I’m moving away. Somewhere with an awesome music shop like HMV. Where the 2 for £10 deal lasts forever.

Leave a Reply

